NMSC Granted Scholarships to Six Deserving Students

Scholarships Granted to Students

Six well deserving local high school graduates are going to receive scholarships from National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities.

Every sponsoring college selected them from among this year’s National Merit finalists, and their scholarship awards ranges between $500 and $2,000 annually. The six students will receive this amount for at least four years.

The beneficiaries and the colleges that picked them are: Maxwell Davis, Appleton North High School graduate, University of Minnesota scholarship; Joseph Hauer, Appleton home-schooled student, Oberlin College near Cleveland, Ohio; Edward Hou, Appleton North grad, University of Minnesota; Alyssa Kampa, Hortonville High School grad, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Bridget Recktenwald, Neenah High School grad, Marquette University, and Caroline Sawyer, Neenah High grad, Northeastern University in Boston.

There are more or less 1.5 million junior students from 22,000 high schools took the 2008 preliminary SAT National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which evaluated and meticulously screened entrants in National Merit competition for this year. September lat year, approximately 16,000 semifinalists were named, representing less than 1 percent of their state’s seniors. Just about 15,000 semifinalists were named finalists and at least half of them or approximately 7,000 students were chosen to receive National Merit scholarships.

Be the first to comment on "NMSC Granted Scholarships to Six Deserving Students"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.